Northwest Florida State College Foundation Hosts 2016 Annual Banquet

The Northwest Florida State College Foundation held its Annual Banquet on Friday, August 26, 2016, to thank out-going directors, install new Foundation directors/officers, and recognize friends of the College who help to fulfill the Foundation’s mission of improving lives at NWF State College. Special highlights included two student scholar speakers, Tawanda Brown and Jermaine Scott, who thanked donors for helping them achieve their academic goals. Special recognitions included the 2016 Alumni Award winners: Ms. Jessica Tuznik - Rising Star; Mr. Jacob Woodhams - Against the Odds; and Mr. Frederick Ketchem - Distinguished Alumni. All awardees spoke to the audience – each thanking NWF State College for giving them a successful start in their academic careers and highlighting the overall importance of education to a successful nation.

Past Foundation Chair, Scott Jackson, was recognized for his four years of service to the Foundation board where he served as treasurer, vice chair, and chair.  Scott leaves a legacy of calm, thoughtful leadership.  As Vice Chair, he oversaw the creation of the first-ever Development Plan and the revision of the Distinguished Alumni Award Program.  As Chair, he helped the foundation exceed a $75,000 goal for the Raider Housing Campaign.   We are grateful for his many contributions. He then recognized the Foundation’s only outgoing board member: Mr. Mike Flynt, who served as the Foundation’s Trustee Liaison for the last three years. He was very involved in helping to develop the Foundation’s first strategic plan, and was active on the Foundation’s finance and governance committees.

In presenting the final award of the evening, the Chairman’s Award, Jackson noted, “As my tenure comes to a close, I am reminded that the Foundation’s success this past year is the direct result of community members and volunteers.  I am always amazed at the way in which others step up to give their time, energy and commitment. The Chairman’s award is given to a Foundation Board member who has led by example and whose efforts have positively enhanced the organization.” Jackson presented the Chairman’s Award to current board vice chair Dale Peterson, who was instrumental in helping the Foundation sell a property asset it was holding in Tallahassee.

The Foundation chair, Mitch Mongell of Fort Walton Beach Medical Center, recognized the 2016-17 Foundation Bo2016 Foundation Boardard members: Vice Chair, Dale Peterson, Dale E. Peterson Vacations; Treasurer, Chad Hamilton, Warren Averett LLC; Secretary, Cristie Kedroski, NWF State College; Trustee Liaison, Jeff Floyd; Interim College President, Sasha Jarrell; Directors: Bo Arnold; Bethany Burke; Wayne Campbell; David Costa, Costa Enterprises; Bart Fleet, Fleet & Smith, P.A.; Paige Floyd-Hart, Bright Light Land Title Company, LLC; Don Litke; Lois Lunderman, Lois Lunderman DDS;  Jeff McInnis, Anchors, Foster, McInnis, P.A.; Venita Morell, MD, Walton Community Health Center; Dennis Peters, Gulf South Research Corporation; Melissa Pilcher, Regional Utilities of Walton County; Tom Rice, Magnolia Grill; Donnie Richardson, Richardson Farms; Fred Thomas, ThomCo Enterprises; Steve Wills, Raytheon Company; Steve Wolfrom, CHELCO; and Dewayne Youngblood, Regions Bank. 

In the most recent fiscal year, the Foundation provided more than $1.7 million dollars in support to the college and $450,000 in scholarships to students.  The Foundation’s net assets were reported over $45 million for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2016, an increase of over 25 percent in the past 5 years.  These achievements reflect the strength of the Foundation and the generous supporters who believe in the life-changing power of higher education.

Feel free to view the NWF Foundation's 2016 annual report.

Site Login